Spotlight on…Yumna Cheema

YumnaCheemaDuring Women’s Week, Yumna Cheema was one of the CBS Matters presenters and shared her amazing journey with us. This week, she discusses why she decided to come to CBS and who she gains inspiration from.

Why did you choose to come to CBS?
I decided to come to CBS because of its strong community and the New York experience. I immediately connected with the students at Connect I and knew CBS was the right choice for me.

What has been your favorite moment at CBS so far?
There are so many! The best ones involve spending time with my cluster: from group study sessions to hearing everyone’s stories during CBS matters and going on cluster trips (New Orleans, Vermont, Bear Mountain, etc.).

What does being a CBS woman mean to you?
Being a CBS woman means I am part of  a group of intelligent, ambitious and strong women who are the future leaders.

What woman do you most look up to and why?
I have always looked up to my mother. She taught me to believe in myself, to never give up, to live life on my own terms and to help as many people along the way as possible.

Do you have any memorable CWiB-related moments from this year?
Hearing Ms. Lulu Wang share her incredible story during Women’s Week.

How has CBS changed you so far?
I have always been amazed by the incredible sense of community at CBS and how helpful everyone is. There are so many opportunities to be involved and to give back. I particularly enjoy the hour I spend every week at a KIPPS school tutoring 6th grade students. I want to make community service a permanent part of my life.

What are you most looking forward to in your second year?
I am looking forward to meeting more people at CBS, hearing their stories and figuring out where my MBA will take me next.

 

About cwib blog

Columbia Women in Business (CWIB) is an organization that strives to provide Columbia Business School women with resources and contacts to assist them in their academic, professional, and personal development. CWIB is committed to working with faculty, administrators, alumni and the greater business community to promote the role of and opportunities for women in business.
This entry was posted in Spotlight On.... Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment